CMMD Fleet 09

Configuring Fleet and Permissions

Configuring Fleet

In the Fleet tab, Fleet administrators can view and edit Fleet display and configure email alerts.

Fleet ID, Maximum Active Users (number of Users that can be logged in), and Maximum Active Vehicles (number of Vehicles that can be tracked in this Fleet) are read-only fields. To edit the rest of the information:

  • Set Distance Units to Miles or Kilometers and Language to English, French or Spanish. These are required fields.
  • Select Time Zone from the provided drop-down menu.
  • Choose the preferred Video Archive Folder where scheduled video archives will be downloaded by default.
  • Enter a Purge value, i.e., the number of days after which deleted video files will be permanently removed from the recycle bin. Deleted video files still in the recycle bin (retention status) can be recovered through the Archive Manager.
  • Enter the Fleet Speed Limit to have speeding events displayed in map search (when Fleet Speed Limit is selected in the Search Pane).
  • Check the Fan Requiring Attention Events box to have Commander inform about such events.

Depending on the customer, event alerts can be emailed from the Commander Cloud Server or from another customer’s server. The email can be configured within the Email Configuration section. To do so:

  • Select Enable Email Alerts to receive system alerts when triggered.
  • Enter SMTP (email server name, which should have a maximum of 20 characters) and SMTP Port (value from 1 to 99999).
  • Enter Username of email user account and then the corresponding Password.
  • Check Secured Connection using TLS to enable a Transport Layer Security connection or Secured Connection using SSL to enable a Secure Socket Layer connection.
  • To test the configuration, enter the email address in the From Address box and the recipient address to be used in the test in the Test Address box. Then, click Send Test Email and see if the email is received.

Configuring Permissions

Fleet administrators can use the Permissions tool to assign permissions to other users. Under the Permission tab, a drop-down menu located on the upper-left corner displays the user Roles existing in the system.

Different Roles, such as Administrators, Supervisors or Users, may have different access levels to the Features available in the Fleet Setting modules of Live+ and Commander applications.

These Features are listed in an expandable table and grouped into three categories, based on which of the applications allow access to them. Such categories are:

  • Common Components – Present in all applications.
  • Path – Only present in Path.
  • vMax Commander – Only present in Commander.
  • vMax Live Plus – Only present in Live Plus.

There are basically three access levels to these features in Commander (the same applies to Live Plus): No Access, Read Only and Full Access.

The Permissions tool in Fleet Settings also allows Fleet administrators to give or remove full access (without specific options) to Stream at the bottom of the table, after the vMax Live Plus feature list.

Since you already know that Permission configuration is based on Roles, Features and Access Levels, let’s take a closer look at the workflows in the next section to learn how to do this.

In the Permissions module, users can Add, Edit or Delete Roles through the Role drop-down menu and the two buttons located next to it.

To add a new Role:

  1. Click on the green Add New Role button. The Add Role dialog opens.
  2. Enter a Name for the Role.
  3. In the provided drop-down menu, select another Role to Copy Permissions From.
  4. Click Save. The new Role appears in the Roles drop-down menu.

A confirmation message pops-up. Close the window to continue with another task.

After adding a new Role, you may need to edit some of the Permissions assigned to it to differentiate it from other Roles (remember you have just copied these Permissions).

To Edit a Role:

  1. Click on the Role drop-down menu and select the appropriate Role.
  2. Expand the Features in the table and locate those features whose Access Level you want to change.
  3. Select the appropriate Access Level (No Access, Read Only or Full Access).
  4. Click Save at the bottom of the screen.

To Delete an existing Role:

  1. Click on the Role drop-down menu and select the appropriate Role.
  2. Click on the red Delete Role button.
  3. When a pop-up message asks you to confirm the action, click Yes. The Role is deleted and removed from the Role drop-down menu.

Passenger Transportation Support

Coban Support

Mobile-Vision Support

  • Monday - Thursday: 8am - 7pm EST
  • Friday: 8am - 6pm EST
  • Phone: 1.800.336.8475, option 3
  • Email: mvisupport@safefleet.net

Fleetmind Support


Copyright © Safe Fleet 2020